SyncBreeze Server File Synchronization Modes

SyncBreeze Server provides a number of different one-way and two-way file synchronization modes allowing one to perform different types of file synchronization operations depending on user-specific needs and requirements.

SyncBreeze Server File Synchronization Modes

In order to change the file synchronization mode for a file synchronization command, open the file synchronization command dialog, select the 'General' tab and select one of the following file synchronization modes:

  • Synchronize Destination Directory (one-way) - All changes made in the source directory will be propagated to the destination directory. Files deleted from the source directory will be deleted from the destination directory. All files changed or deleted in the destination directory will be restored using files from the source directory. No changes will be made in the source directory. After the file synchronization process is complete both locations will be identical.
  • Update Destination Directory (one-way) - Newly created and modified source files will be copied to the destination directory. Files deleted from the source directory will be deleted from the destination directory. Files deleted from the destination directory will be restored using files from the source directory. Newly created and modified destination files will be kept in place. No changes will be made in the source directory.
  • Accumulate and Update Files in Destination (one-way) - Newly created and modified source files will be copied to the destination directory. Files deleted from the destination directory will be restored using files from the source directory. Newly created and modified destination files will be kept in place. No files will be deleted from the destination directory. No changes will be made in the source directory.
  • Two-Way File Synchronization - Newly created and modified files will be synchronized in both directions. Files deleted from the source directory will be deleted from the destination directory. Files deleted from the destination directory will be restored from the source directory. Changes may be made in both locations. After the file synchronization process is complete both locations will be identical.
  • Two-Way Stateful File Synchronization - Newly created and modified files will be synchronized in both directions. Files deleted from the source directory will be deleted from the destination directory. Files deleted from the destination directory will be deleted from the source directory. Changes may be made in both locations. After the file synchronization process is complete both locations will be identical.
  • Two-Way Accumulation and Update - Newly created and modified files will be updated in both directions. Files deleted from one location will be restored from the second location. Changes may be made in both locations. After the file synchronization process is complete both locations will be identical.